May 31, 2012

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have), by Sarah Mlynowski

Title: Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release: June 7, 2011
Buy from R.J. Julia: Click here
2 girls + 3 guys + 1 house – parents = 10 things April and her friends did that they (definitely, maybe, probably) shouldn't have. If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn't jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe "opportunity" isn't the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: "Lied to Our Parents"). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up "Skipping School" (#3), "Throwing a Crazy Party" (#8), "Buying a Hot Tub" (#4), and, um, "Harboring a Fugitive" (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them. In this hilarious and bittersweet tale, Sarah Mlynowski mines the heart and mind of a girl on her own for the first time. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn't-have-done at a time.

Around the time Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) came out, I  remember not really being interested in it. A lot of people were buzzing about it, saying how much they loved Sarah Mlynowski and how excited they were to read her newest, but I was just sort of indifferent to it all. But when I finally did decide to give Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) a chance, I was so disappointed in myself for shrugging it off earlier!


Above all else, Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) is pure fun. It’s a book that you can sit down if you’re stressed or if you’re just looking for a pleasure read and it will completely take you away for a while, which I think is exactly what I needed when I read it. The story is a bit far-fetched, but I was having such a good time reading it I really didn’t care. 


Now I see what the big deal was about Sarah Mlynowski! After reading Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) I am so eager to go pick up more of her books. If they’re anything at all like this one, I’m sure to have a good time ahead of me when I’m reading them! Mlynowski is a talented author that not only writes entertainingly, but well. 


April and her friends and foes were all very likeable. Thinking back, I can’t remember a single character that I didn’t like or connect to in some way. They’re all written with dimension and character. There are a lot of characters, but they all stand out and help make Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) the best it could be.


Though it does have its few flaws, they are minute when it comes to the big picture. Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) is a fun, humorous book that will have you flipping pages and forgetting about everything else in your life. Treat yourself and pick up Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have). You won’t regret it.

May 30, 2012

Future Favorites #93


Future Favorites is an awesome blog feature here at Electrifying Reviews. Each time I do one of these, I post about a few books that are yet-to-be-released and that I can't wait to read! 

Heaven (Halo, #3) by Alexandra Adornetto (Feiwel & Friends: August 21, 2012)●
The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress (Dial: December 6, 2012)●

Blackwood by Gwenda Bond (Strange Chemistry: September 4, 2012)●
Shift by Kim Curran (Strange Chemistry: September 4, 2012)●

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1) by Gena Showalter (Harlequin Teen: September 25, 2012)●
Two and Twenty Dark Tales: Dark Retellings of Mother Goose Stories by Various Authors (Month9Books: October 16, 2012)●

Which of these looks the best to you? What are some books you're looking forward to? Comment below and let me know!

May 29, 2012

30 Days of Daemon Blog Tour: Onyx Excerpt

Starting over sucks.When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.And then he opened his mouth.Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens. The hot alien living next door marks me.You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. If I don't kill him first, that is.


As part of the 30 Days of Daemon Blog Tour, I have an exclusive excerpt of Onyx, the second Lux novel by Jennifer L. Armentrout, to share with you all...


I scooted out of the laundry room and skipped down the hallway, arms flaying around my head like one of the hot pink puppets from the movie Labyrinth. “A scent and a sound, I’m lost and I’m found. And I’m hungry like the wolf. Something on a line, it’s discord and rhyme—whatever, whatever, la la la—Mouth is alive, all running inside, and I’m hungry like the—” Warmth spread down my neck.

“It’s actually, ‘I howl and I whine. I’m after you,’ and not blah or whatever.”


Startled by the deep voice, I shrieked and whipped around. My foot slipped on a section of well-cleaned wood and my butt smacked on the floor.

“Holy crap,” I gasped, clutching my chest. “I think I’m having a heart attack.”

“And I think you broke your butt.” Laughter filled Daemon’s voice.

I remained sprawled across the narrow hallway, trying to catch my breath. “What the hell? Do you just walk into people’s houses?”

“And listen to girls absolutely destroy a song in a matter of seconds? Well, yes, I make a habit out of it. Actually, I knocked several times, but I heard your…singing, and your door was unlocked.” He shrugged. 

“So I just let myself in.”

“I can see that.” I stood, wincing. “Oh, man, maybe I did break my butt.”

“I hope not. I’m kind of partial to your butt.” He flashed a smile. “Your face is pretty red. You sure you didn’t smack that on the way down?”

I groaned. “I hate you.”


Obsidian (#1) and Shadows (prequel novella) are both out now, and Onyx (#2) comes this August, all from Entangled Teen.

May 26, 2012

My Newest Novels (5)


My Newest Novels is a book haul feature here on Electrifying Reviews, in which I showcase the books I come to possess each week. That's really all there is to it! Here's what I got this week...


The Broken Universe (Universe, #2) by Paul Melko (hardcover)
Thanks to Tor

The Miles by Robert Lennon (paperback)
Thanks to Kensington

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, #1) by Julie Kagawa (signed hardcover + sweatshirt)
Thanks to Harlequin Teen

Glow (Sky Chasers, #1) by Amy Kathleen Ryan (audiobook)
Thanks to Macmillan

All These Things I’ve Done (Birthright, #1) by Gabrielle Zevin (audiobook)
Thanks to Macmillan

eBooks

Undead by Kirsty McKay (eARC)
Thanks to The Chicken House, via NetGalley

Claws by Michael Grinti and Rachek Grinti (eARC)
Thanks to The Chicken House, via NetGalley

Swipe by Evan Angler (ebook)
Thanks to Thomas Nelson, via NetGalley

Sleepers (The Swarm, #1) by Megg Jensen (ebook)
Free on Kindle

Insight by Jamie Magee (ebook)
Free on Kindle

Frey by Melissa Wright (ebook)
Free on Kindle

Week in Review...

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

May 24, 2012

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, by Ann Brashares

Title: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
Author: Ann Brashares
Publisher: Delacorte
Release: September 11, 2001
Buy from R.J. Julia: Click here
Carmen got the jeans at a thrift shop. They didn’t look all that great; they were worn, dirty, and speckled with bleach. On the night before she and her friends part for the summer, Carmen decides to toss them. But Tibby says they’re great. She’d love to have them. Lena and Bridget also think they’re fabulous. Lena decides they should all try them on. Whoever they fit best will get them. Nobody knows why, but the pants fit everyone perfectly. Even Carmen (who never thinks she looks good in anything), thinks she looks good in the pants. Over a few bags of cheese puffs they decide to form a sisterhood, and take the vow of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants . . . the next morning, they say good-bye. And now the journey of the pants–and the most memorable summer of their lives–begins.

When I picked up The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants at the library, I honestly thought I would just listen to it as a joke. I wasn’t expecting much out of it, because, well, it’s called The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and there were a pair of ugly jeans on the cover. But when I started listening to it, for real, I fell in love. I had no idea I would love this book so much.

True fact: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants isn’t really about pants. Mind blowing, right? It’s actually a really emotional and fun contemporary novel about for best friends and their first summer spent apart since they were just babies. Their unique journeys were so fantastic and heartwarming, and I loved hearing about how each of their summers affected them and what they went through over the few short months.

Ann Brashares has a writing style that’s simple, and easily readable. Of course, I listened to this on audio, but from what I could tell by my listening Ann Brashares is a great writer and I would have no problem picking up one of her books to read instead of listening to. She nailed the voices on each of the characters, and made the book seem so real.

The four main characters—Carmen, Lena, Bridget (B), and Tibby were all unique despite being so close. Their personalities stood out and I can honestly say that I liked them all equally. There wasn’t a girl whose story I preferred to listen to over the others, and I actually liked them all as characters. I wish I could join the sisterhood!

Even though I wasn’t expecting much, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants blew me away. It’s fun, heartwarming, heartbreaking, funny, sad, and about a million other things, but most of all it’s a great book. I’ve already listened to the second and third books in the series, and hope to get my hands on numbers four, five, and the spinoff book as soon as possible.

Audio: I listened to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants on audio, and it really enhanced the experience and I’m pretty sure made me like the book that much more. The narrator was great from what I recall, and I would totally recommend listening to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants if audiobooks are your thing.

May 23, 2012

Future Favorites #92


Future Favorites is an awesome blog feature here at Electrifying Reviews. Each time I do one of these, I post about a few books that are yet-to-be-released and that I can't wait to read! 

Velveteen by Daniel Marks (Delacorte: October 9, 2012)
Poison Princess (Arcana Chronicles, #1) by Kresley Cole (Simon & Schuster: October 2, 2012)

Crewel by Gennifer Albin (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux: October 16, 2012)
Burn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian (Simon & Schuster: September 18, 2012)

Envy (Fury, #2) by Elizabeth Miles (Simon Pulse: September 4, 2012)
Ask the Passengers by A.S. King (Little, Brown: October 23, 2012)

Which of these looks the best to you? What are some books you're looking forward to? Comment below and let me know!

May 22, 2012

Author Interview: Brigid Kemmerer (Storm)

Earth, Fire, Air, Water – they have more power than you dream.

Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her, Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys—all the ones she doesn't want. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water—just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming . . .



Each book in the Elemental series tells the story of a different brother, each of them with a special power. Can you explain the "magic" that the elementals have?

I almost pasted the scene where Chris explains it to Becca. :-) Basically, imagine a circle with a five-pointed star inside it. (Like a pentagram.) Now imagine everyone on earth landing somewhere inside that circle. Each point of the star represents a different element (Earth, Air, Fire, Water, and Spirit). People have a natural inclination to the element to which they fall closest. Those who fall directly on a point (like the Merrick brothers in STORM) can control that element.

If two books had a baby, and that baby was Storm, which two books would they be?

This is a really cool question! I'd have to say The Perfect Chemistry series by Simone Elkeles and the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by JR Ward.

Which of the Merrick brothers have been the most fun to write?

They're all a lot of fun. I can really identify with Michael, who has a lot of responsibility (ELEMENTAL, available now), but also with Chris, who just wants to figure out where he fits in his family, and also in the world (STORM, available now), and especially with Gabriel, the hothead who says whatever he's thinking but is really hiding a lot of emotion inside. (SPARK, available September 2012)

How many books will there be in the Elemental series? What can we expect from this series?


Right now I'm contracted for three books, but I'm also writing a novella to go along with each book. STORM and ELEMENTAL are available now, FEARLESS and SPARK will be available in August/September, and SPIRIT plus an untitled novella will be available early summer 2013. Each book is written in alternating POV from both a boy and a girl character, and I try to write my stories with a sense of contemporary realism along with the paranormal action and high stakes. I love the reviews that mention my books have the weight of a contemporary, because that's exactly what I was going for.

Besides the Elemental series, are you working on any other projects?

I have a few things I'm tinkering with, but nothing concrete or ready to share. :-)

Where can readers find out more about you and your books?

Anywhere! My website is a great resource, www.brigidkemmerer.com, and I'm very active on Twitter, @BrigidKemmerer. I love meeting new people, so don't hesitate to chat me up!

May 20, 2012

The Clique, by Lisi Harrison

Title: The Clique
Author: Lisi Harrison
Publisher: Poppy
Release: May 1, 2004
Buy from R.J. Julia: Click here
Massie Block: With her glossy brunette bob and laser-whitened smile, Massie is the uncontested ruler of The Clique and the rest of the social scene at Octavian Country Day School, an exclusive private girls' school in Westchester County, New York. Massie knows you'd give anything to be just like her. Dylan Marvil: Massie's second in command who divides her time between sucking up to Massie and sucking down Atkins Diet shakes. Alicia Rivera: As sneaky as she is beautiful, Alicia floats easily under adult radar because she seems so "sweet." Would love to take Massie's throne one day. Just might. Kristen Gregory: She's smart, hardworking, and will insult you to tears faster than you can say "my haircut isn't ugly!" Enter Claire Lyons, the new girls from Florida in Keds and two-year-old Gap overalls, who is clearly not Clique material. Unfortunately for her, Claire's family is staying in the guesthouse on Massie's family's huge estate while they look for a new home. Claire's future looks worse than a bad Prada knockoff. But with a little luck and a lot of scheming, Claire might just come up smelling like Chanel No. 19. The Clique . . . the only thing harder than getting in is staying in.

Because of my recent addiction to chick lit and contemporary novels, I decided The Clique was a series that I was just going to have to start. So I went out and got the first three books, ready to be addicted to the series after page one. However, I was let down by The Clique, but I can still see how some people aren’t.

Plain and simple, I’m not the right market for The Clique; it’s for middle school girls, basically. Since I am neither, The Clique wasn’t targeted toward me. The story is pretty simple, sometimes funny, but not very deep. I can totally see a younger person adoring it, but The Clique wasn’t mature enough for me I guess. I know I sound like a total snob saying that, but it’s true. I read middle grade a lot, and I love most of what I read, but I think The Clique was written down for tweens.

Lisi Harrison is a good writer, but nothing about her writing itself really stood out to me. I enjoyed The Clique, but that’s pretty much it. She didn’t write something so great that I have the urge to read the next book right away, but she also didn’t write something so terrible I won’t read the next book ever.

The characters were pretty… okay. They were very cliché, and didn’t have lots of dimension, but I did sympathize with them at times and I even connected with one or two. Claire and Massie were the two main characters, and they definitely had the most substance to them. Alicia, Dylan, and Kristen were just sort of… there the whole time, but hopefully they have a more prominent role in the future.

The Clique was a cute, lighthearted, sometimes funny book and it’s perfect for a young audience. I can’t see anybody in high school or older enjoying The Clique too much, but I could be wrong. It’s a decent book and I’ll be reading more of this series, but not anytime too soon.

May 19, 2012

My Newest Novels (4)


My Newest Novels is a book haul feature here on Electrifying Reviews, in which I showcase the books I come to possess each week. That's really all there is to it!



Back in Fashion (Sirenz, #2) by Charlotte Bennardo & Natalie Zaman (paperback)
Thanks to Charlotte

Because I’m Worth It (Gossip Girl, #4) by Cecily von Ziegesar (paperback)
Bought

I Like It Like That (Gossip Girl, #5) by Cecily von Ziegesar (paperback)
Bought

You’re the One That I Want (Gossip Girl, #6) by Cecily von Ziegesar (paperback)
Bought

Nobody Does It Better (Gossip Girl, #7) by Cecily von Ziegesar (paperback)
Bought

Nothing Can Keep Us Together (Gossip Girl, #8) by Cecily von Ziegesar (paperback)
Bought

Only in Your Dreams (Gossip Girl, #9) by Cecily von Ziegesar (paperback)
Bought

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen (paperback)
Bought

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen (paperback)
Bought

This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen (paperback)
Bought

Bought

eBooks

Over You by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus (eARC)
Thanks to HarperTeen, via Edelweiss

The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver (eARC)
Thanks to HarperCollins, via Edelweiss

The Great Unexpected by Sharon Creech (eARC)
Thanks to HarperCollins, via Edelweiss

Thanks to HarperTeen, via Edelweiss

Mountain of Bones (Gravediggers, #1) by Christopher Krovatin (eARC)
Thanks to Katherine Tegen Books, via Edelweiss

Life Happens Next by Terry Trueman (eARC)
Thanks to HarperTeen, via Edelweiss

The Other Normals by Ned Vizzini (eARC)
Thanks to Balzer + Bray, via Edelweiss

Don’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon (eARC)
Thanks to HarperCollins, via Edelweiss

The Cloak Society by Jeramey Kraatz (eARC)
Thanks to HarperCollins, via Edelweiss

Defiance by C.J. Redwine (eARC)
Thanks to Balzer + Bray, via Edelweiss

Thanks to HarperCollins, via Edelweiss

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck by Emily Fairlie (eARC)
Thanks to Katherine Tegen Books, via Edelweiss

The Peculiar by Stefan Bachmann (eARC)
Thanks to Greenwillow, via Edelweiss

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (eARC)
Thanks to Bloomsbury, via NetGalley

Thanks to Angry Robot, via NetGalley

Blackwood by Gwenda Bond (eARC)
Thanks to Strange Chemistry, via NetGalley

Shift by Kim Curran (eARC)
Thanks to Strange Chemistry, via NetGalley

The Goddess Legacy by Aimée Carter (eARC)
Thanks to Harlequin Teen, via NetGalley

Circle of Silence (WiHi, #2) by Carol M. Tanzman
Thanks to Harlequin Teen, via NetGalley

Demon Eyes (Witch Eyes, #2) by Scott Tracey (eARC)
Thanks to Flux, via NetGalley


Starring Me by Krista McGee (eARC)
Thanks to Thomas Nelson Books, via NetGalley



Crater by Homer Hickam (ebook)
Thanks to Thomas Nelson Books, via NetGalley



Garden of Madness by Tracy L. Higley (ebook)
Thanks to Thomas Nelson Books, via NetGalley

Insanity by Lauren Hammond (eARC)
Thanks to Total Bookaholic

Daemons in the Mist (The Marked Ones, #1) by Alicia Kat Dillman (eARC)
Thanks to KatGirl Studio

This Week's Posts

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

May 18, 2012

Nothing Special Blog Tour: Writing for Boys

Felton Reinstein thought he had it all-a great girlfriend, an athletic scholarship in the bag, and football friends he could totally count on. Wrong Like an elephant storming a house of cards, it all comes crashing down. And it's Felton's fault. Turns out his little brother has taken an impromptu road trip to Florida (aka desperate flight from all the talented people) to make a bid for stardom (aka fronting a hotel rock band with escapees from a retirement community). What's a big brother to do but help pick up the pieces, even if it means giving up all the status, all the glory and once again facing a life of nothing special.


Writing for Boys by Geoff Herbach



Stupid Fast has been out for almost a year. It’s been really great. I’ve traveled a bit, met lots of writers and librarians and bloggers. Best of all, though, I’ve met “elusive” teen boy readers – both through my blog, email and in person. Good stuff.


I do have some concerns, though.


A really smart 16-year-old from Brooklyn wrote to tell me how much he loved Stupid Fast. He also said, “I hate books, always have.” What? A freshman at a high school I visited the other day told me: “I only like two books. Stupid Fast and this other one I can’t remember.” Okay… I have had similar exchanges again and again in the last year. It reinforces the reason I wanted to write Stupid Fast in the first place: there is a good-sized subset of kids who don’t have enough books to read. I was that kind of kid.


When I was fourteen-years-old, I played sports and played in the orchestra, tried out for plays and did okay in school. On paper I looked like a normal kid, maybe even a pretty high achieving kid.


Here’s the truth, though: I was all crazy on the inside. I was all like: “I should shower again because… is there a weird smell? What are you looking at? I think Kerri and Audrey are laughing at me. I hate them! My shirt doesn’t fit. What’s that smell? I love Jenny. I love her. She hates me! What’s wrong with my shirt? There’s definitely something wrong with my ear. What are you looking at? What’s that weird smell?” ETC.


Crazy. But… here’s the truth: not abnormal.


Having taught writing to college kids for the last six years, I know for something for a fact: Almost everyone (male or female) felt like a dork as a teen. They write essays about it. But, boy culture puts a premium on hiding the truth. The girls in my classes are better at expressing it. Many have read books for years that help them make sense of things. Boys, who need the help most, have very few books that address their concerns. A few years ago, my son decided he fantasy no longer spoke to him, then he read a few books that did then stopped reading, because he could find nothing that spoke to him.


I had a similar experience. When I was fourteen, I read. A lot. If I hadn’t read Catcher in the Rye my life would’ve been much worse. Holden Caufield’s thoughts were so familiar to me. Even if they were a little terrifying, and he was on the edge, I knew that I wasn’t alone. I began to devour anything with a male protagonist. The more gritty, the more down to earth, the better (this was a big change, because up until that point, I pretty much read fantasy). Vision Quest, The Chocolate War, I am the Cheese, A Separate Peace… But soon, I ran out of material. I read some adult titles, but slowed down and almost stopped.


The publishing industry believes that boys don’t read, so they don’t publish books for them. My anecdotal evidence contradicts this belief to some extent. The boys I’m meeting enjoyed reading books that were meant for them, that directly address their way of thinking – which isn’t always pretty, but isn’t dumb or simple, either.


I’m on a mission, I guess. I want to write good stories aimed squarely at teen boys. In a decade, I want to have dudes come up to me and list ten books they love. The girls I’m meeting are able to do this! Girls are so lucky to have dozens of great books coming every month that speak to their experience.


If you’re a writer, maybe think about writing for boys? If you’re a reader, ask a librarian what’s new that speaks to boys. They’ll know (because there aren’t many titles). Maybe we’ll build a bigger market for these young men who need material so much!


Yeah, that’s my dream.

May 17, 2012

Nothing, by Janne Teller

Title: Nothing
Author: Janne Teller
Publisher: Atheneum
Release: February 9, 2010
Buy from R.J. Julia: Click here
Nothing matters... From the moment you are born, you start to die... The Earth is 4.6 billion years old. You’ll live to be a maximum of one hundred. Life isn’t worth the bother! So says Pierre Anthon when he decides there is no meaning to life, leaves his seventh-grade classroom, climbs a plum tree, and stays there. His friends and classmates cannot get him to come down, not even by pelting him with rocks. So to prove to him that there is a meaning to life, they set out to give up things of importance, challenging one another to make increasingly serious sacrifices. The pile is started with a lifetime’s collection of Dungeons & Dragons books, a fishing rod, a pair of green sandals, a pet hamster—but then, as each demand becomes more extreme, events take a morbid twist. And what if, after all these sacrifices, the pile is still not meaningful enough to bring Pierre Anthon down?

I first heard about Nothing from a former teacher last year. When she told me what it was about, I was actually really interested, but acted like I didn’t care because I was with my friends and didn’t really want them to see me talking to a teacher about books. But the title of the book never left my mind, and when I saw it in real life for the first time, I picked it up and started as soon as I could.

Nothing is actually really twisted and very dark. With each chapter, things get more intense and the characters turn more and more… well, maybe evil is a good word for it, but not the best one. Nothing also has some very meaningful lessons that I really took to heart while I was reading. It really has depth to it that I appreciated since a lot of the books I read don’t.

Because it was originally written in Danish, it’s hard to comment on Janne Teller’s actual writing, since I didn’t really experience exactly what she was trying to say. However, Nothing is very poignant and intelligent, and though it wasn’t written in my language, Teller’s meaning shines through and really made me think and appreciate what she had to say.

The characters in Nothing don’t hold too much dimension, but they are definitely not flat. I didn’t necessarily connect to any of them, and I can’t fairly say that I like them, but for some reason I can’t bring myself to criticize them. They are well-written characters, though not in the way that most well-written characters are.

If you aren’t afraid to venture into the twisted side of things, and to really think and reflect on what you’re reading, I would definitely tell you to read Nothing. It’s though-provoking and unique and I’m pretty sure this book is on its way to being a classic.

May 16, 2012

Future Favorites #91


Future Favorites is an awesome blog feature here at Electrifying Reviews. Each time I do one of these, I post about a few books that are yet-to-be-released and that I can't wait to read! 

Origin by Jessica Khoury (Razorbill: September 4, 2012)
Reached (Matched, #3) by Ally Condie (Dutton: November 13, 2012)

The Essence (The Pledge, #2) by Kimberly Derting (McElderry: January 1, 2013)
Beautiful Redemption (Beautiful Creatures, #4) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl (Little, Brown: October 23, 2012)

Crimson Rising (Skyship Academy, #2) by Nick James (Flux: September 8, 2012)
Never Let You Go by Emma Carlson Berne (Simon Pulse: December 4, 2012)

Which of these looks the best to you? What are some books you're looking forward to? Comment below and let me know!

May 15, 2012

Gossip Girl, by Cecily von Ziegesar

Title: Gossip Girl
Author: Cecily von Ziegesar
Publisher: Poppy
Release: April 1, 2002
Buy from R.J. Julia: Click here
Welcome to New York City's Upper East Side, where my friends and I live, go to school, play, and sleep--sometimes with each other. S is back from boarding school, and if we aren't careful, she's going to win over our teachers, wear that dress we couldn't fit into, steal our boyfriends' hearts, and basically ruin our lives in a major way. I'll be watching closely... You know you love me, Gossip Girl

The reason I decided to read the Gossip Girl books is that I recently became completely addicted to the television show which was adapted from the series. When I found out the show was based of books, I knew I just had to read them right away. And while it was fun to read about these characters and see the differences between the show and the books, I have to say that I prefer the show to the books. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t like Gossip Girl.

While Gossip Girl is fun, entertaining, and addicting (though not as much as the show), it lacks the depth that the show has. Of course, with a television show they have a lot more room to work with than a two-hundred page book, but I still wanted a similar experience to what I get when I watch the show. I still really liked reading Gossip Girl, though. It is an escape and I definitely enjoyed it.

Cecily von Ziegesar has a writing style that I think readers have to be in the mood for. There’s a lot of detail about what the characters are eating, wearing, and stuff like that. While some may find all of this meaningless, it does fit with the Gossip Girl world. These kids are living dream lives, and von Ziegesar does show that through her writing.

The characters also lacked the dimension in Gossip Girl that they had more than enough of in the show. I feel so bad for continuing to compare Gossip Girl to the television series of the same name, but because I did watch the show before reading the books, I can’t help but do so.

I think if you haven’t seen Gossip Girl on the small screen and are looking for a quick, chick-lit escape of a book, Gossip Girl is perfect for you. If you are a fan of the show, and are looking for an identical experience with the books, you’ll be let down, but that doesn’t mean you won’t love the books as well. I liked Gossip Girl, and will definitely be continuing to read the series, but I don’t love it like I do the show.

May 14, 2012

Ferocity Summer Blog Tour: Why Alissa Loves Bookstores

Scilla Davis is haunted by a horrible accident that she was involved in last summer—a drunken, reckless joyride that ended in tragedy. With a big trial looming, life seems empty, unreal, and utterly hopeless. It’s especially painful watching her best friend, Willow, slowly destroy herself with pills and booze. Yet Scilla can’t seem to wrest Willow—or herself—from a path of self-destruction.

But there might be a possible escape from this nightmare. As a dangerous new drug called Ferocity sweeps the nation, an FBI agent asks Scilla to turn narc and help locate the Ferocity kingpin. In exchange, she could avoid conviction for her role in the accident. All she has to do is deceive and betray people she’s known all her life.



Why I Love Bookstores by Alissa Grosso

This is the sixth stop on my Blog Tour Road Trip to promote my new book Ferocity Summer, which is now available. Don't forget to read to the end of this post to find out how you can enter  a drawing for your very own summer survival pack, which includes a signed copy of Ferocity Summer.

Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, by the time you read this blog post I will already have had my Ferocity Summer launch party at the wonderful independent bookstore the Clinton Book Shop. It was also where I celebrated my first ever book launch, when my first book Popular came out last year. I love this charming little bookstore in this charming little town, but then I tend to love all bookstores.

I know that modern technology has provided us with all sorts of marvels like the ability to write blog posts days and days before they actually appear and the ability to purchase books without ever leaving the comfort of our homes. It still boggles my mind that something called a "book" (though it lacks the smell and feel of what I call a book) can be instantly delivered to our own digital reading device. Sometimes I feel like I'm living in a Philip K. Dick novel.

As exciting as such marvels are, I'd still prefer to browse through a real, live bookstore. To touch the books, to browse the shelves. Maybe something unexpected will grab my eye or the cover of an old favorite will bring to mind buried memories.

Real live bookstores host real live authors for events at their stores. It's a chance to meet and interact with writers that so far technology hasn't quite managed to duplicate. As an author I'm thankful to bookstores for giving me the chance to help get my book out there and meet potential fans, as a reader I'm thankful to bookstores for providing a venue where I can meet authors, ask them questions and get beautiful signed books.

I know that some think that bookstores are dinosaurs, that books themselves (the kind that are made out of dead trees, anyway) may be on the way out, but I'm hopeful that as long as I'm around there will be a bookstore that I can browse and that its shelves will be filled with real live books.


a Rafflecopter giveaway